About Us

HLEG Members

Dr. K Srinath Reddy
President, Public Health Foundation of India

Dr. Reddy is Chair of the High Level Experts Group (HLEG) appointed by the Planning Commission on Universal Health Coverage. Prior to this, Dr Reddy was the Professor of Cardiology at All India Institute of Medical Sciences.

Dr. Abhay Bang
Society for Education, Action and Research in Community Health (SEARCH), Gadchiroli

Dr. Bang is a social activist working on community health in Gadchiroli district of Maharashtra. He founded SEARCH, a non-profit organization in December 1985, after completing his Masters in Public Health from Johns Hopkins University, USA and started working on community health problems in the tribal region.

Nachiket Mor
Chairman, Sughavazhvu Healthcare (Former Chairman, ICICI Foundation)

Nachiket Mor is a Yale World Fellow; has a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Pennsylvania with a specialization in Finance from the Wharton School; an MBA from the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmadabad and an undergraduate degree in Physics from the Mumbai University. He is now the Chairman of the Boards of Sughavazhvu Health Care, CARE India and IFMR Trust.

Dr. AK Shiva Kumar
Adviser, UNICEF and Member National Advisory Council

Dr. Shiva Kumar is a development economist and Adviser to UNICEF, India. He is also Visiting Professor at the Indian School of Business in Hyderabad and teaches economics and public policy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government. Dr. Shiva Kumar works on issues of poverty, health, nutrition, basic education, women’s right and children’s rights.

Shri. P. K. Pradhan
Health Secretary, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

Shri. Pradhan has an M.Sc in Botany and is a 1977 batch IAS officer from the West bengal cadre. Presently, he is the special secretary in the Department of Health and Family Welfare. Prior to this, Shri. Pradhan also worked as a Joint Secretary in Urban Development Ministry.

Mr Amarjeet Sinha
Health Secretary, Bihar

Mr Sinha played a key role in Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan and The National Rural Health Mission. After completing BA (History-Honours) from Delhi University. Mr Sinha has been associated with the Central government for nearly 17 years, working towards gaining a better understanding of social development.

Anu Garg
Principal Secretary-cum-Commissioner (Health &FW), Government of Orissa

Ms Garg is a 1991 batch Indian Administrative Services (IAS) officer and is credited with the phenomenal improvement in health care in Orissa's far-flung and inaccessible pockets. She has relentlessly worked towards securing access for all- regardless of income level and social status to appropriate quality health services.

Dr. Gita Sen
Professor, Centre for Public Policy, IIM, Bangalore

Dr. Sen is a development economist. Her work includes research, training and policy advocacy on the political economy of globalization and economic liberalization, gender and development, population policies, the equity dimensions of health and the role of civil society. She has a Master's from the Delhi School of Economics and a Ph.D. from Stanford University.

Jashodhara Dasgupta
Coordinator, SAHAYOG, Lucknow

Jashodhara is the Coordinator of SAHAYOG, a voluntary organization that works on promoting women's health and gender equality using human rights frameworks. Jashodhara's major work has been on gendered rights claiming, examining rights and accountability in the context of citizen participation.

Dr. Leila Caleb Varkey
Public Health Researcher

Dr. Leila Caleb Varkey is an Independent Public Health Consultant, Researcher -Maternal and Child Health and a Member HLEG on Universal health Coverage- Planning Commission. In 2002, she was appointed the trustee of MATRIKA - an acronym for Motherhood and Traditional Resources, Information, Knowledge and Action.

Dr. M. Govinda Rao
National Institute of Public Finance and Policy

Dr. M. Govinda Rao is the Director, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi, India since January 2003. He is also a Member, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister. His past positions include Director, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bangalore (1998-2002) and Fellow, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia (1995-98).

Dr. Mirai Chatterjee
Director, Social Security, Self Employed Women’s Association (SEWA)

Dr. Chatterjee is the Coordinator of Social Security for India's Self-Employed Women's Association, SEWA - a trade union of over 200,000 self-employed women. She is responsible for SEWA’s Health Care, Child Care and Insurance programmes. Before this, she was General Secretary of SEWA for three years and Coordinator of SEWA Health Team for twelve years.

Dr. Vinod Paul
Head of Department of Paediatrics, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi

Dr. Paul is the Professor and Head of the Department of Paediatrics at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. He is a well known academic, researcher and a public health activist. Dr. Paul was Secretary of the National Neonatology Forum of India in 1990-92. He was instrumental in developing the maternal and child health strategy of India’s Reproductive and Child Health program.

Dr. Yogesh Jain
Jan Swasthya Sahyog, Bilaspur

Jan Swasthya Sahyog was established in 1999 with the objective to develop and provide a low-cost and effective health program that includes both preventive and curative services in the tribal and rural areas of Bilaspur district. Dr. Jain- MBBS, MD (Paediatrics), AIIMS works as a paediatrician at JSS.

Dr. NK Sethi
Senior Adviser (H&FW), Planning Commission − Convener

Dr. Sethi has been working towards the goal of reducing hunger and poverty by half by 2015. He is also devoted to promoting the improvement of children, girls’ and women’s nutrition as a top political and programmatic priority at all levels (national, state and district), with commensurate budgetary allocations for these essential interventions.